grubs

Well, as I had mentioned before, I have grubs in my vegetable beds (and my lawn for that matter).  I panicked, and as stated before, threw as many as I could over the fence for the dog poop yard next door.  So, I read online that milky spore would be the way to go.  I called Jericho Nursery and they said, no milky spore!!  They said that works for Japanese Beetles, but not the kind of grubs we get here in NM.  Here are my options:

1.  I can put cans or toilet paper rolls in my dirt about an inch down to protect the stem, which the grubs like to “grub” on or

2. I can pick them out myself or

3.  I can buy a chicken

I love Jericho Nursery.  I am now commencing Project: Talk my Husband into Getting a Chicken.  So far, it’s not working.  I will be posting pics soon of the garden, and listing all of the companion flowers that I planted with them.  We are also testing pak choy for its durability since every fly ball that my kids miss lands in the pak choy bed.

    • CBoy
    • April 21st, 2010

    Please get a chicken and I’ll make chicken tacos for you guys in about a month or so…BTW The Grubs is a great name for a band…

    • trixie
    • April 21st, 2010

    Chickens! chickens! Fresh eggs- that’s how you can sell it to Steve-o. Let me know if you want me to help you influence. Oh, there is nothing like fresh eggs. and no grubs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

