Let me pick your brain

I have two questions:

1.  My pole beans are dying.    Do they need more water or less water?  Do they need me to whisper sweet nothings in their ear?  I have them next to bamboo poles.  Do they need more support?  I need more support because me and green beans do not have a great history together.

2.  I planted about three pak choy seeds per hole.  They are all coming up.  When do I thin them out? I think I shall try to transplant them somewhere else and we will see if that works.  They are about an inch tall.

    • Nannette
    • May 11th, 2010

    I dont know what is eating our peas every year but we have to put walls of water around them and we still only get a small plant. We have turtles that eat the snails but we still have something that kills our peas. We can try anything else (eggplant, celery, asparagus, beans) and we are ok but we have a pea problem!

    I dont know about your beans. Scott put ours on the same timer as the rest of the garden so they would get the same amount of water. He did have them growing on a fence so maybe they do need more support.

    • Brandy
    • May 15th, 2010

    You might have the wrong levels in your soil – look up what makes them grow properly and test or just fertilize your soil in their favor!

    My dad always gave them a wire fence between 2 wood posts about 6 feet tall, and they grew great. Good water but not drowned, and he REALLY worked the dirt before planting… Other than that, not sure! ;0)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

